Anthropic is facing renewed criticism over how it describes usage limits for its Claude Max plans. The company offers a $100 Max 5x tier and a $200 Max 20x tier, labels that can easily be read as implying the higher-priced plan delivers four times the total allowance of the lower one. According to Anthropic’s own documentation, however, the 5x and 20x multipliers apply only to each five-hour usage window, not to overall weekly capacity.
That distinction has become a point of friction because all paid plans also carry weekly limits, and Anthropic has not disclosed how those weekly caps compare with the Pro plan. A recent reverse calculation shared by a Reddit user estimated that, during the current temporary capacity increase, the Max 20x plan offers only about 2.25 times the weekly total of Max 5x.
The issue has also reached court. A proposed class action filed in June alleges that Max 20x delivers only 6 to 8 times Pro’s actual total usage, while Max 5x is roughly 3.5 times Pro. On that basis, the gap in weekly usage between the two Max tiers would also be only about twofold. The case is still pending, and no court has found that Anthropic engaged in false advertising.
Anthropic’s Claude Max plans are again facing criticism on social media over how their usage limits are described.
The company’s $100 Max 5x plan and $200 Max 20x plan can easily be read as suggesting that the higher tier offers four times the total allowance of the lower one. Anthropic’s official documentation says otherwise: the 5x and 20x labels apply only to each five-hour usage window.
All paid plans also come with weekly limits. Anthropic has not disclosed how those weekly caps compare with the Pro plan, and that lack of detail has become a key source of user frustration.
A recent reverse estimate by a Reddit user said that, during the current temporary increase in limits, the Max 20x plan’s weekly total is only about 2.25 times that of Max 5x.
Anthropic has also been sued over the issue. A proposed class action filed in June alleges that Max 20x provides only 6 to 8 times the actual total usage of Pro, while Max 5x is about 3.5 times Pro. By that account, the difference in weekly usage between the two tiers is also only about twofold.
The case remains under review, and no court has determined that Anthropic engaged in false advertising.
This article was originally published by Bit.Fan. For more cryptocurrency news and market insights, visit www.bit.fan. Disclaimer:
The market information, project data, and third-party content displayed on this platform are for industry information sharing only and do not constitute any form of investment advice or return commitment.
Cryptocurrency trading carries high risks. Users should fully assess their risk tolerance and make independent decisions. All profits, losses, and legal responsibilities are borne by the users themselves.